Akira Yoshino, M. Stanley Whittingham, John B. Goodenough win 2019 Nobel prize in chemistry


The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on Wednesday announced that the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino for the development of lithium-ion batteries.

“Lithium-ion batteries have revolutionized our lives and are used in everything from mobile phones to laptops and electric vehicles,” the Nobel Prize committee said in a statement following the announcement.

“Through their work, this year’s Chemistry Laureates have laid the foundation of a wireless, fossil-fuel-free society”, they added.

The 2018 Nobel Prize in chemistry was awarded to Frances H. Arnold, George P. Smith and Gregory P. Winter for their work that harnessed evolutionary principles to create new proteins.

 2019 Nobel prize for medicine and physiology was awarded to William G. Kaelin Jr, Peter J. Ratcliffe and Gregg L. Semenza for their work in discovering how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability.

The 2019 Nobel Prize for physics was awarded to Canadian-American physicist James Peebles, and Swiss scientists Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz

James Peebles won one half of the prize for "theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology", and the other half was jointly shared by Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz for "the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star."

The 2018 and 2019 Nobel Prizes in Literature will be announced on Thursday in Sweden. Meanwhile, the Nobel Peace Prize will be announced on Friday in Norway. The Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Science will be announced on October 14, Monday in Sweden.


Image credit: The New York Times

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook