EC bans Modi biopic 'PM Narendra Modi'during election period


NEW DELHI: The Election Commission on Wednesday banned the screening of the biopic on Prime Minister Narendra Modi during poll period.

The EC order came a day before the movie was to be released. In its order, it pointed out that any film that subserves the purpose of any political entity or individual should not be displayed in the electronic media.

The film was all set to release on April 11 Thursday, when the first phase of Lok Sabha elections starts.

Earlier, the film had been criticised by the opposition parties and claimed that the biopic could give undue advantage to the BJP in the polls as it will arrive in theatres before the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

On Tuesday, the Supreme Court had dismissed a petition filed by a Congress activist seeking a stay on the film's release.

The plea had sought deferment of the biopic's release till the completion of the coming Lok Sabha polls.

The petition also alleged that it was designed to manipulate, influence and impress viewers and voters.

However, the apex court had said it was not entertaining the petition for the stay on the release of the film as it was "premature" since the movie is yet to be certified by the Censor Board.

The top court added that if the film is released on April 11, it will be appropriate for him to seek redressal from the Election Commission.

On Wednesday, the biographical drama on Prime Minister Narendra Modi has received 'Universal' certificate from the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC).

"We are very happy that we got the 'U' certificate from the Censor Board, and finally the film will be releasing on April 11”, producer Sandeep Singh said in a statement on Wednesday.

"I hope no political parties across India has any problem, because the Election Commission, the CBFC, and all the courts have cleared all the pleas. We are grateful to each and everyone who have prayed for us," he added.

Directed by Omung Kumar, the biopic will traverse the journey of Modi from his beginnings to his years as chief minister onto his landmark win at the 2014 general election and being nominated as prime minister.

Boman Irani, Manoj Joshi, Prashant Narayanan, Zarina Wahab, Barkha Sengupta, Anjan Shrivastav, Yatin Karyekar, Ramakant Dayma, Akshat R Saluja, Jimesh Patel and Darshan Kumaar are part of the cast.

The film will also release in Tamil and Telugu.


1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook