EC issues notice to Rahul Gandhi over ‘NYAY’ poster in Amethi


AMETHI: The Election Commission of India on Thursday issued a notice to Congress President Rahul Gandhi for violation of Model Code of conduct over Congress’ ‘NYAY’ scheme banner put up on a wall in Amethi.

The EC said that banner was put up without the permission of the owner of the building.

Rahul Gandhi has been asked to file a reply within 24 hours in the matter.

‘Nyay’ is also the social welfare scheme announced by the Congress party in its election manifesto.

On March 25, Rahul Gandhi had announced, under this scheme, the poorest 20 per cent families of the country will get income support of Rs 72,000 per annum if voted to power.

Earlier, Rahul Gandhi had said, the NYAY scheme would be a ‘surgical strike’ against poverty and would not harm the country’s economy.

On Thursday, the Election Commission (EC) banned the Madhya Pradesh Congress Committee’s poll campaign, which uses the slogan ‘chowkidar chor hai’ or the watchman is a thief.

The poll body took the decision to ban the campaign, which was being promoted via audio and video messages, based on a complaint by the Bharatiya Janata Party.

The complaint pointed out that the slogan uses objectionable language directed against ‘chowkidar’, means Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The BJP had launched a campaign called ‘Main Bhi Chowkidar’, a few months back in order to reinforce its image as an anti-corruption party.

PM Modi also repeatedly used the word in several poll campaigns and referred to himself as the country’s ‘chowkidar’ or ‘watchman’.

This declaration has prompted Congress and come with a counter slogan ‘chowkidar chor hai’ or ‘the watchman is the thief’.

Rahul Gandhi is contesting from Amethi and filed his nomination papers from there on April 10. He is pitted against BJP’s Smriti Irani, who had lost the seat from here in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

He is also contesting from the Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency in Kerala and filed his nomination on April 4.

Ameti is a traditional bastion of the Gandhi family and will go to polls on May 6.

Voting for the 543 Lok Sabha seats is being held in seven phases: April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Counting of the votes will be done on May 23.


1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook