Naveen Patnaik takes oath as Odisha CM


BHUBANESWAR: Biju Janata Dal president Naveen Patnaik took oath as the Chief Minister of Odisha for a fifth consecutive term on Wednesday.


Patnaik was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Ganeshi Lal in a grand ceremony at the Idco Exhibition Ground here.

The BJD had won 112 seats in the 147-member Assembly in the recently concluded elections, held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha polls.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Naveen Patnaik and assured him of the Centre's complete cooperation in the state's progress.

"Congratulations to Shri Naveen Patnaik Ji on taking oath as Odisha's Chief Minister. Best wishes to him and his team in fulfilling the people's aspirations. I assure complete cooperation from the Centre in working for Odisha's progress," Modi tweeted.

Apart from chief minister's elder brother and businessman Prem Patnaik, sister and noted writer Gita Mehta, around 7,000 dignitaries including captains of industries attended the swearing-in ceremony.

A large number of BJD supporters and women grass root leaders attended the function.


With inputs from PTI


1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook