Restrictions lifted from most areas of Kashmir on Monday


SRINAGAR: Restrictions were lifted from most areas of Kashmir, except some parts of Srinagar on Monday.

“The restrictions have been lifted from most areas of the valley, but continued in parts of Srinagar in the interior areas and in the jurisdiction of Maisuma police station of the city”, the officials said.

Even though, the normal life remained severely affected in the Valley following the abrogation of Article 370 entered its 36th day with schools closed and public transport off the roads.

As per the report, the barricades were removed from the commercial hub of Lal Chowk and adjoining areas a day after they were sealed off by placing concertina wires at all entry points.

However, security forces continued to be deployed to maintain law and order.

Severe restrictions were re-imposed in parts of the valley on Sunday to prevent any procession in the city and elsewhere in the valley on the eighth day of Muharram.

The curbs on the movement of people in some parts of the valley are imposed every year on the eight and the tenth day of Muharram to prevent any processions.

Friday prayers have not been allowed at any of the major mosques in Kashmir for the past one month now.

Curbs were first imposed across Jammu and Kashmir on August 5 when the Centre announced its decision to revoke the state's special status under Article 370 and bifurcate it into two Union territories.

On August 5, the government had revoked some provisions of Article 370 to take away Jammu and Kashmir's special status and brought in a bill for splitting the state into two Union territories, Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah later withdrew the Jammu and Kashmir Reservation (2nd Amendment) Bill, 2019, in Lok Sabha, saying that the clauses incorporated in the legislation will automatically come into effect in the two new Union Territories.

On August 6, the Parliament had approved a resolution abrogating special status to Jammu and Kashmir under Article 370 of the Constitution and a bill for splitting the state into two Union Territories.

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook