TMC goondas broke Vidyasagar's statue, BJP govt will install grand statue, says PM Modi


CHANDAULI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday promised to install Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar's grand statue at the same spot in Kolkata where it was vandalised.

He also added that Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar statue was vandalised by ‘TMC goondas’ and BJP government was committed towards his vision. 

"The statue of Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar was broken by TMC goondas during the road show of BJP President Amit Shah. Those who are involved in this incident should be punished".

He said a grand statue of Ishwar Chand Vidyasagar will be made up of five metals and will be installed at the same spot to give a befitting reply to TMC workers.

However, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said Bengal does not need money from the BJP, it has enough resources to rebuild the statue.

"Modi has promised to rebuild the Vidyasagar statue in Kolkata. Why should we take their money, Bengal has enough resources", she said. 

Kolkata witnessed wide-spread violence during BJP president Amit Shah's massive roadshow on Tuesday.

A bust of 19th century Bengali icon Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar was vandalised during the violence.

On Wednesday, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee had conducted a protest march against the vandalism.

Carrying posters and replicas of Vidyasagar's bust, TMC cadres demanded immediate arrest of the culprits involved in the vandalism.

On Wednesday, Banerjee and several top TMC leaders had changed profile pictures of their Facebook and Twitter profiles with photo of Vidyasagar to protest the desecration of the bust of the great social reformer.

Trinamool Congress's official profile on Twitter and Facebook was also changed with an image of Vidyasagar.

However, BJP president Amit Shah had accused West Bengal's ruling Trinamool Congress of indulging in violence in the state.

On Wednesday, while addressing a press conference in New Delhi Shah had said West Bengal has witnessed violence in all the six phases of Lok Sabha polls.

"The BJP is contesting polls in all states. There has been no violence. But there has been violence in West Bengal as TMC is contesting elections," he had said.

He also said he would not have escaped unhurt without CRPF protection when his convoy was allegedly attacked in Kolkata on Tuesday.

Voting for the 543 Lok Sabha seats is being held in seven phases: April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Result of the seven-phase general elections will be declared on May 23.


1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook