BJP announces 4 candidates for Legislative Council elections in Karnataka

South India

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday announced four candidates for the Legislative Council Elections in Karnataka.


Former Minister R Shankar, former Minister  M T B Nagaraj, and former MLA Sunil Valyapure and Pratap Simha Nayak have been announced as the BJP candidates.

However, the party did not give tickets to former Minister H Vishwanath and former MLA Miniratna, who are defectors from Congress. 

The party announced the candidate list at midnight, since Thursday is the last day for filing nominations.

Earlier on Wednesday, the Congress had announced B K Hari Prasad and Naseer Ahmed as party’s candidates for the two seats.

Seven seats will become vacant in the legislative council for which elections are scheduled on June 29. 

The term of seven members of Karnataka Legislative Council elected by the members of respective Legislative Assembly (MLAs) is expiring on June 30.



All Comments