Chandrababu Naidu reconstitutes TDP Politburo

South India

For the first time, film star and two-time MLA Nandamuri Balakrishna has been appointed as a member of the 24-member politburo.

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) supremo N Chandrababu Naidu has on Monday, October 19, revamped the party organisation by reconstituting the party politburo and the central committee.

Senior party leader Kinjarapu Atchannaidu has been brought in as the new president for the Andhra Pradesh unit while L Ramana will continue to lead the party in Telangana. Nara Lokesh will continue as the party national general secretary.

Naidu announced the TDP's 27-member central committee and 25-member politburo. The central committee has six vice-presidents including senior leaders Kavali Prathiba Bharathi, Galla Aruna Kumar, DK Satyaprabha and Kotla Suryaprakash Reddy.

Along with Nara Lokesh, K Rammohan Naidu, Nimmala Ramanaidu and Beeda Ravichandra were also made national general secretaries. Kambampati Rammohan Rao has been given charge of national political affairs. TD Janardhan Rao has been made political secretary (organisation), while Sriram Rajagopal Tatahtaih has been made the party treasurer.

For the first time, film star and two-time MLA Nandamuri Balakrishna has been appointed as a member of the politburo, which has a total of 25 members, including three ex-officio. Balakrishna will be a representative of the party founder N T Rama Rao''s family in the politburo, replacing his late brother Nandamuri Harikrishna.

Former minister Kollu Ravindra, who was recently arrested in a murder case, has also been taken into the politburo. Another former minister Pithani Satyanarayana, who has also been named in the ESI scam, also got a place in the politburo.

Guntur MP Galla Jayadev has been made politburo member in place of his mother Galla Aruna Kumari, who recently resigned from her post. However, she has now been made a vice-president in the central committee.

Besides Ramana, who will be an ex-officio member, the politburo has only two other members from Telangana where the party is facing a virtual extinction.

In the 15-member central committee, four from Telangana, including an MLA Mecha Nageswara Rao, found place while another has been made the official spokesman. MLC Bachhula Arjunudu has been made chairman of the party disciplinary committee (with inputs from PTI)

Image Credit: YUV News

All Comments