Counting of votes underway in 3 assembly seats West Bengal, 1 in Uttarakhand


KOLKATA: The results for the Assembly bypolls held for three seats in West Bengal and one in Uttarakhand is scheduled to be declared today.

According to the report from the Election Commission officials, counting of votes began at 8 am amid tight security.
On November 25, Polling for by-elections in four assembly constituencies - three in West Bengal and one in Uttarakhand were held.
In West Bengal -- Karimpur, Kharagpur Sadar and Kaliagan -- and in Uttarakhand, the Pithoragarh seat went to polls on Monday.
The bypolls at Kharagpur Sadar and Karimpur were necessitated after sitting MLAs Dilip Ghosh and Mahua Moitra got elected to the Lok Sabha. The bypoll in Kaliaganj is the fallout of the death of Congress MLA Pramath Nath Roy. The Pithoragarh bypoll was necessitated after the death of sitting MLA and Cabinet Minister Prakash Pant in June.
Congress nominee Dhitashree Roy, supported by the CPI(M), is pitted against TMC's Tapan Deb Sinha and BJP's Kamal Chandra Sarkar at Kaliaganj.
In Karimpur the CPI(M)-Congress candidate Gholam Rabbi is in the reckoning against Majumdar and the ruling TMC's Bimalendu Singha Roy.
In Kharagpur Sadar, the contestants are Prem Chandra Jha of BJP, Chittaranjan Mandal of the Congress-CPI(M) alliance and Pradip Sarkar of the TMC.
Around 78 per cent of over seven lakh electorate had cast their votes in the by-polls to Kaliaganj, Karimpur and Kharagpur Sadar Assembly seats where 18 candidates were in the fray.
The electoral battle is being seen as a triangular contest between Trinamool Congress, BJP and Left-Congress parties.
The Gazette Notification for these polls was issued on October 30 and the last date for filing nominations was November 6.

With inputs from Agency
Image credit: PTI

All Comments