DMK announces names of three candidates for RS polls

South India

CHENNAI: Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) President MK Stalin on Sunday announced its three candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections for Tamil Nadu.

As per the statement issued, Tiruchi Siva, Andhiyur Selvaraj and N.R.Elango would be the party candidates for Rajya Sabha polls.

Currently, the AIADMK has 10 members in the Rajya Sabha and the DMK has five.

The ruling AIADMK has 125 members (including the Speaker) in the Assembly and the DMK and its allies have 106 members (DMK 98, Congress 7 and IUML 1).

Earlier, the Election Commission had said that Six members of Rajya Sabha- Sasikala Pushpa, Vijila Sathyanath, S Muthukaruppan, AK Selvaraj (all AIADMK), Tiruchi Siva (DMK) and TK Rangarajan (CPI-M) will retire on April 2.

According to the EC’s schedule for biennial elections, the Rajya Sabha elections are scheduled to be held on March 26, 2020, and counting of votes will happen on the same day.

With inputs from media reports

Image credit: Deccan Herald


All Comments