IMD issues yellow alert for 9 districts in Kerala

South India

With the onset of monsoon expected in Kerala, the Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) has issued a yellow alert for nine districts of the state on Monday.


A yellow alert has been issued for Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Pathanamthitta, Alappuzha, Kottayam, Ernakulam, Idukki, Malappuram, and Kannur districts on June 1.

IMD has issued Yellow alert for Ernakulam, Thrissur, Malappuram, Kozhikode, and Kasaragod on June 2. IMD has placed Kannur and Kasaragod under yellow alert on June 3.

According to the Kerala State Disaster Management Authority (KSDMA), heavy rainfall is predicted and isolated areas are expected to receive 64.5 mm to 115.5 mm rain in 24 hours. The yellow alert is meant to warn the public and concerned officials to the situation.

KSDMA also issued a warning to those who live in areas prone to floods, landslides, and riverbanks, saying that they should take special precautions in case of strong winds and rain. Those living in coastal areas should also take adequate precautions.

Meanwhile, a low pressure has formed in the Arabian Sea north to Lakshadweep and according to the weather department it is likely to intensify into a cyclone in the coming 48 hours. 

However, it won’t have much impact on Kerala as the Cyclone ‘Nisarga’ is predicted to move further towards coastal areas of Karnataka, Maharashtra and Gujarat.

All fishing activities off the coast has already been suspended by the Kerala State Disaster Management Authority (KSDMA) 


With inputs from Agency

Image credit: Daily Echo

All Comments