Karnataka rebel MLAs approach SC, seeks deferment of bypolls

South India

BENGALURU: Karnataka Congress-JD(S) disqualified MLAs on Friday approached the Supreme Court, seeking deferment of state bypolls which are scheduled to take place on December 5.

The elections to the 15 assembly by-polls seats were earlier slated for October 21 but later postponed to December 5 by the Election Commission (EC) as the case pertaining to the disqualification of 17 MLAs was pending in the Supreme Court.
The judgment on their disqualification was reserved by the apex court last month.
The matter was mentioned before a two-judge bench headed by Justice S A Bobde by senior advocate Mukul Rohatgi, who is representing the rebel legislators.
The bench asked Rohatgi to file the plea and said that they will later consider what to do.
Senior advocate Rohatgi said that filing for nomination for 15 assembly by-polls seats is set to begin from November 11, but the judgment against their disqualification is yet to be pronounced by the court.
In July earlier this year, Former Karnataka assembly speaker K R Ramesh Kumar had disqualified 17 MLAs under the anti-defection act and barred from contesting polls. It had led to the fall of the Congress-JD (S) coalition government in the state.
The Congress-JD(S) coalition government in Karnataka headed by Kumaraswamy collapsed with 99 members voting for the motion and 105 against it in a House with an effective strength of 205 members.
On September 28, the Election Commission had announced that the by-polls for 15 Assembly constituencies in Karnataka will be held on December 5.
The poll for 15 Assembly constituencies namely Athani, Kagwad, Gokak, Yellapur, Hirekerur, Ranibennur, Vijayanagara, Chikkaballapur, K.R. Pura, Yeshvanthapura, Mahalakshmi, Shivajinagar, Hosakote, Krishnarajpet and Hunsur, will be conducted from 7 am to 6 pm.
The candidates can submit their nominations from November 11 till November 18. November 19 has been finalised as the date for the scrutiny of nominations and November 21 as the last date for withdrawal of nominations.

Image credit: News 18

All Comments