Kerala local body polls to be held in three phases in December

South India

The counting of votes will take place on December 16

Kerala local body election will be held in three phases on December 8, 10, and 14, according to the schedule announced by the State Election Commission (SEC) at Thiruvananthapuram on Friday, November 6.  

In the first phase on December 8, elections will be held in Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Idukki, Pathanamthitta and Alappuzha, second phase on December 10 in Kottayam, Ernakulam, Thrissur, Palakkad and Wayanad and in third and last phase on December 14 in Malappuram, Kozhikode, Kannur and Kasaragod.

The commission will issue the election notification on November 12, said SEC V Bhaskaran. The last date for filing nominations is November 19 and withdrawal November 23. The votes will be counted on December 16

The election is being held in 1999 local bodies. They include 941 gram panchayats, 152 block panchayats, 14 district panchayats, 86 municipalities except Mattannur and 6 corporations.

As many as 2.71 crore voters figured in the final electoral roll published on October 1. This included 1.29 crore male voters, 1.45 crore female, and 282 transgender voters. A supplementary voters list will be published on November 10.

With the announcement of poll dates, the model code of conduct has come into effect in the state.

This is the first election to be held in the midst of the Covid pandemic in the state. Strict Covid protocol has been put in place for the conduct of the election. Postal voting facility will be provided for Covid positive patients and those in quarantine.

Image Credit: New Indian Express

All Comments