Qatar bans arrivals from 14 countries amid coronavirus scares


DOHA: Qatar has temporarily suspended entry of travellers from 14 countries, including India, as a precaution against the rapidly spreading coronavirus.

The ban covers China, Egypt, India, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Syria and Thailand.

Qatar reported three more cases of the virus on Sunday, bringing the total there to 15.

In addition, the advisory also denies "all individuals intending to enter from these countries, including visas upon arrival, those with a residence or work permit, and temporary visitors."

The State of Qatar urges all citizens and residents to avoid all but essential travel at this time.

The communications office further noted that the precautionary measures may be subject to further updates based on the latest guidance of the national health authorities and international organisations on the spread of coronavirus, in order to ensure the safety of all residents of the country.

The coronavirus emerged in Wuhan, China, last December and has now spread to more than 100 countries across the globe.

The global death toll is nearing 3,800, with more than 103,000 confirmed cases.


With inputs from Agency


All Comments