Voting begins in three assembly seats in West Bengal, one in Uttarakhand


NEW DELHI: Polling for by-elections in four assembly constituencies - three in West Bengal and one in Uttarakhand began this morning amid tight security.

The constituencies going to by-polls today are Pithoragarh in Uttarakhand and Kaliaganj (SC), Karimpur and Kharagpur Sadar in West Bengal.
The bypolls at Kharagpur Sadar and Karimpur were necessitated after sitting MLAs Dilip Ghosh and Mahua Moitra got elected to the Lok Sabha. The bypoll in Kaliaganj is the fallout of the death of Congress MLA Pramath Nath Roy.
In West Bengal, these are the first polls since after the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in which BJP had won 18 out of the 42 seats.
Today's electoral battle is being seen as a triangular contest between Trinamool Congress, BJP and Left-Congress parties.
The Gazette Notification for these polls was issued on October 30 and the last date for filing nominations was November 6.
With polling being held today, the counting of votes will take place on November 28.

With inputs from ANI
Image credit: PTI

All Comments