Karnataka Assembly Speaker moves SC, seeks more time to deal with resignation issue of rebel MLAs


NEW DELHI: Karnataka speaker KR Ramesh Kumar moves the Supreme Court and seeks more time to decide on resignations of 10 rebel MLAs.

The Speaker said he won't be able to verify resignations within the deadline set by the SC.

The Supreme Court, however, rejected the urgent hearing plea saying that it has already passed the order and added that the plea will be heard on Friday.

On Wednesday, the 10 rebel MLAs had moved apex court alleging that the Karnataka Speaker was not accepting their resignations.

The MLAs who have filed the petition are Pratap Gouda Patil, Ramesh Jarkiholi, Byrati Basavaraj, BC Patil, S T Somashekhar, Arbail Shivaram Hebbar, Mahesh Kumathalli, K Gopalaiah, A H Vishwanath and Narayana Gowda.

Subsequently, the bench headed by Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi had allowed 10 rebel MLAs to meet the assembly speaker at 6 pm to convey their decision to resign.

The bench, also comprising Justices Deepak Gupta and Aniruddha Bose, asked the Karnataka Assembly Speaker to decide on the resignation of the MLAs during the course of the day.

The Karnataka Assembly has 225 members, including one nominated MLA. The halfway mark in the Assembly is 113.

The JD(S)-Congress coalition's total strength in the state assembly, including those who have put in their papers, is 118 --Congress 78, JD(S) 37, BSP one and two Independents, besides the speaker.

The BJP has 105 MLAs in the House.

The Congress-JD(S) coalition is making all efforts to protect its government which seems to have fallen short of a majority.


1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook