Karnataka bypoll results today


BANGALORE: The result for three Lok Sabha and two Assembly seats in Karnataka will be declared today.


The constituencies that went to polls on November 3 in Bellary, Shimoga, Mandya, Ramanagara and Jhamkandi.

“The counting of votes will begin at five centres (one each in five constituencies) at 8 am today, the total of 1,248 counting staff deployed,” said the officials.

Elaborate security arrangements have made to ensure that no untoward incident takes place during the counting of votes and the police deployed around the counting centres and strongrooms where the EVMs are placed.

A total of the 54.5-lakh electorate, comprising 27.2 lakh men and 27.3 lakh women, had registered to vote for the by-election.

Of the three parliamentary seats, the BJP held two and the JD(S) one. The unexpected alliance between the Congress and JD(S) after the assembly election in May that kept it out of power despite being the single largest party.

The result for the Lok Sabha seats, Shivamogga, Ballari and Mandya and assembly constituencies of Jamakhandi and Ramanagara are crucial for the ruling Congress JD(S) alliance as well as the BJP.

 In 2014, the BJP had won 17 of Karnataka's 23 parliamentary seats. The Congress won nine and HD Kumaraswamy's Janata Dal (Secular) two seats. The pattern held in the assembly elections in May, where the BJP won 104 of the 224 seats.

An estimated 67 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the bypolls for five constituencies. A total of 31 candidates were in the fray from all the five constituencies.


1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook