No BJP MLA will join another party, 20 MLAs will leave Congress, says Yeddyurappa


KALABURAGI: Karnataka BJP Chief BS Yeddyurappa on Tuesday said that not a single person from BJP will join any other party and more than 20 MLAs will not continue in Congress after the declaration of Lok Sabha election results.

“After May 23, more than 20 Congress MLAs, who are not happy with HD Kumaraswamy will not continue in the party. Not a single person from BJP will join any other party”, BS Yeddyurappa said.

Yeddyurappa’s statement came after Congress General Secretary K C Venugopal’s statement on Monday.

On Monday, Congress General Secretary K C Venugopal had claimed several BJP MLAs would join his party after May 23, when results of the seven-phase general elections will be declared.

Addressing a press conference here, Venugopal said Congress is not going to indulge in horse trading.

“We are not going to poach any MLAs from BJP but they will come to Congress after May 23. We are ruling the state from last one year and we will continue it”, Venugopal had said.

He had expressed his confidence in the formation of a Congress-led government at the Centre.

"We are very much confident that there will be a government at the Centre under the leadership of the Indian National Congress”, Venugopal had said.

Karnataka went to polls on April 18 and April 23, in two phases of the Lok Sabha election for the 28 LS seats at stake.

Voting for the 543 Lok Sabha seats is being held in seven phases: April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Result of the seven-phase general elections will be declared on May 23.



1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook