Kerala BJP leader V Muraleedharan inducts in Modi cabinet


THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Bharatiya Janata Party president Amit Shah and Prime Minister Narendra Modi chose Kerala BJP leader V Muraleedharan as the party’s face from the southern state in the union cabinet.

Muraleedharan will serve as the 3rd BJP minister from the state after O Rajagopal and Alphonse Kannathanam.

Kummanam Rajasekharan, who lost to Shashi Tharoor in Thiruvananthapuram, Alphons Kannanthanam, who was the Union Minister of State for Culture and Tourism in the last government, and Rajya Sabha MP Suresh Gopi were other alternatives for the party.

Along with Suresh Gopi, Muraleedharan was elected as a Rajya Sabha MP on April 3, 2018.

The 60-year-old leader has been a prominent face of the saffron party in Kerala. He was engaged in television debates and worked over the years to expand the party’s footprint in the state.

His oratory skills and leadership qualities helped him to rise in the party lines.

Vellamvelly Muraleedharan is an Indian politician and the eighth State President of BJP in Kerala.

He was elected as the BJP's state unit chief for two terms from 2010 to 2015.

He joined the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) during his student days and graduated in English literature and language from Brennen College in Thalassery.

Narendra Modi was on Thursday sworn in as the Prime Minister for a second term helming a 58-member ministry.

Besides 25 Cabinet ministers including Modi, Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nirmala Sitharaman, Nitin Gadkari, Smriti Irani, Piyush Goyal and Jaishankar, nine were sworn in as Minister of State with Independent charge and another 24 as Minister of State.

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 5.00 (1 Vote)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook