Kerala CM loses cool, shouts at media persons over query on higher voter turnout in LS polls


KOCHI: Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan on Wednesday lost his calmness and asked media persons to 'keep away' as they approached him for seeking his opinion on the higher voter turnout in the Lok Sabha polls held in the state on Tuesday.


The Chief Minister's rough reaction came when he was stepping out of the Government Guest House here in this morning.

On Wednesday morning, the media person approached him to know his opinion about the record polling in the state, compared to the last three decades in the general elections.

On that time, the Chief Minister, in an agitated mood, shouted at the media persons and said: “Keep away”.

On Tuesday, the state had witnessed heavy polling of 77.68 per cent in the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies.

In most of the 20 Lok Sabha seats in Kerala, it was a do-or-die battle for both the ruling CPM-led LDF and opposition Congress-headed UDF.

The BJP-led NDA was posing a formidable challenge to the LDF and UDF in at least three constituencies- Thiruvananthapuram, Pathanamthitta and Thrissur.

In Kerala, as many as 227 candidates were in fray contesting on all the 20 Lok Sabha seats in the state.

Wayanad constituency had the maximum number of candidates-- 20 and the lowest are in Alathur in Palakkad district (6).

Wayanad was considered the main focus as Rahul Gandhi is contesting from this seat. He was in the fray with 19 other candidates.

Rahul Gandhi's decision to contest from Wayanad besides his traditional Amethi seat has added new interest to the fight between rivals UDF and LDF.

Union minister Alphons Kannamthanam was seeking to make his Lok Sabha debut from Ernakulam.

Sitting Congress MP Shashi Tharoor faced a triangular contest in Thiruvananthapuram, where the BJP had fielded former Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan and the CPI C Divakaran.

Besides Wayanad Lok Sabha Constituency, elections were also held in Kasargod, Kannur, Kollam, Attingal, Thiruvananthapuram, Vadakara, Kozhikode, Malappuram, Ponnani, Palakkad, Alanthur, Thrissur, Chalakkudy, Ernakulam, Idukki, Kottayam, Alappuzha, Mavelikkara and Pathanamthitta.

In the third phase, voting was held in 116 Lok Sabha seats spread across 13 States and two Union Territories on Tuesday.

In the first two phases, the election was held to 91 and 95 seats on April 11 and April 18 respectively.

Voting for the 543 Lok Sabha seats is being held in seven phases: April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Counting of the votes will be done on May 23.

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook