LS polls 2019: Kerala records 22.24 per cent by 11 AM


THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Kerala recorded 22.24 per cent voting till 11 AM in the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state.


According to Election Commission sources, Kannur witnessed the highest voting percentage this time-24.53 per cent while Ponnani constituency registered the lowest-19.45 per cent.

The high profile Wayanad constituency, where the AICC chief Rahul Gandhi is seeking mandate, witnessed 23.68 per cent polling so far.

Thiruvananthapuram and Pathanamthitta constituencies, which witnessed a fierce triangular fight between the CPI(M)-led LDF, Congress-headed UDF and BJP-NDA, recorded 22.24 per cent and 23.47 per cent respectively.

Though complaints of technical glitches in voting machines were reported in various places, polling continued after the snags were rectified.

Governor P Sathasivam, Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, Leader of Opposition Ramesh Chenntithala, former Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, Malayalam superstars Mohanlal and Mammootty were among the early voters.

To choose their representatives for the 17th Lok Sabha, the electorates started to trickle in most of the polling booths as soon as the voting began at 7 am. The polling would end at 6 PM.

In most of the 20 Lok Sabha seats in Kerala, it is a do-or-die battle for both the ruling CPM-led LDF and opposition Congress-headed UDF.

The BJP-led NDA is posing a formidable challenge to the LDF and UDF in at least three constituencies- Thiruvananthapuram, Pathanamthitta and Thrissur.

In Kerala, as many as 227 candidates are in fray contesting on all the 20 Lok Sabha seats in the state.

Wayanad constituency has the maximum number of candidates-- 20 and the lowest are in Alathur in Palakkad district (6).

Wayanad is considered the main focus as Rahul Gandhi is contesting from this seat. He is in the fray with 19 other candidates.

Rahul Gandhi's decision to contest from Wayanad besides his traditional Amethi seat has added new interest to the fight between rivals UDF and LDF.

Union minister Alphons Kannamthanam is seeking to make his Lok Sabha debut from Ernakulam.

Sitting Congress MP Shashi Tharoor is facing a triangular contest in Thiruvananthapuram, where the BJP has fielded former Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan and the CPI C Divakaran.

Besides Wayanad Lok Sabha Constituency, elections are also underway in Kasargod, Kannur, Kollam, Attingal, Thiruvananthapuram, Vadakara, Kozhikode, Malappuram, Ponnani, Palakkad, Alanthur, Thrissur, Chalakkudy, Ernakulam, Idukki, Kottayam, Alappuzha, Mavelikkara and Pathanamthitta.

Voting began on Tuesday in 116 Lok Sabha constituencies spread across 13 States and two Union Territories in the third phase of ongoing elections.

Elections are being held in seven phases and with the completion of the third phase, the election process will be completed in southern states.

All parliamentary constituencies in Gujarat, Kerala, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Goa and Daman and Diu will vote on April 23 in a single phase.

Polling in all the Lok Sabha constituencies of Gujarat (26), Kerala (20), Maharashtra (14), Karnataka (14), Uttar Pradesh (10), Chhattisgarh (7), Odisha (6), Bihar (5), West Bengal (5), Assam (4), Goa (2), one each in Jammu and Kashmir , Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, and Tripura are witnessing polling in the third phase.

Voting for the 543 Lok Sabha seats is being held in seven phases: April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Counting of the votes will be done on May 23.




1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook