CPI, DMK signs seat sharing agreement for 2019 Lok Sabha elections


CHENNAI: The Communist Party of India (CPI) and Dravida Munnetra Kazgham (DMK) on Monday signed a poll pact for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.


CPI state secretary R. Mutharasan and DMK President MK Stalin have signed the seat sharing agreement on two constituencies.

Earlier in the day, Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) founder-leader Thol Thirumavalavan announced that his party has reached an agreement with DMK for two constituencies for the forthcoming general elections.

"We made an agreement with DMK for two constituencies in forthcoming parliamentary elections. We will decide on what are those constituencies after a couple of days. Now we fixed only on the numbers, peacefully and happily." Thol Thirumavalavan said.

Earlier, DMK president MK Stalin had announced to give 10 Lok Sabha seats to Congress in Tamil Nadu including Puducherry wherein all 40 seats are at stake.

Meanwhile, Union Minister and BJP leader Piyush Goyal in Tamil Nadu's Thoothukudi said:

"On March 6, we will have a grand meeting of BJP-AIADMK-PMK alliance near Chennai. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will attend the meeting along with Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K. Palaniswami, Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam, the PMK leaders and several other leaders will share the stage”.

On February 19, AIADMK said that the BJP would contest five Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu and the lone seat of Puducherry.

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, AIADMK won 37 seats in Tamil Nadu while the BJP-DMK alliance had won only two seats.


With inputs from ANI

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook