KCR reaffirms support for special category status to AP


VIKARABAD: Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao on Monday reaffirmed support for special category status to Andhra Pradesh.

On Monday, KCR hit out at his Andhra Pradesh counterpart Chandrababu Naidu, saying that Naidu is set to face defeat in ensuing Lok Sabha poll and the Andhra CM is abusing him every day out of fear of defeat.

"Our MPs have spoken in Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha in support of giving special category status to Andhra Pradesh. Even now we have the same stand. After winning seats in the elections, our MPs will offer support in bringing special category status to Andhra Pradesh," he said while addressing a rally in Vikarabad.

The demand to grant special category status to Andhra Pradesh intensified after the division of the region into two states in 2014 when Telangana was carved out of Andhra Pradesh during the Congress-led UPA government at the Centre.

Andhra Pradesh`s capital Hyderabad, which is a rising IT hub with the majority of jobs was also shifted to Telangana.

At present, 11 states - Assam, Jammu and Kashmir, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Sikkim, Himachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Tripura, Uttarakhand and Mizoram - have been granted financial aid under this special category.

These states had received special financial aid from the Centre because the majority of them have hilly-terrain and have a considerable tribal population.

The funds to special and general category states are allocated by the central government on the basis of Madhav Gadgil-Pranab Mukherjee formula, which was proposed in 1969.


With inputs from ANI

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook